Modern Log Cabins – the process

Standard

I enrolled in the Craftsy Block of the Month 2012 Class (great class and free too!) and the May block was a Modern Log Cabin – one of many versions out there.  Here’s my block and some comments on the process I followed to get there.

100_1432

Things I did do:

  • fussy cut the centre
  • looked for colours that I felt matched
  • squared up the block between frames
  • pressed each seam
  • used scissors & a rotary cutter
  • used old style prints AND modern solids
  • pieced everything by machine
  • had a focal point (the deer)
  • used a non-traditional colour palette
  • changed the format of the original block into a frame, instead of an L (per the Craftsy pattern)

Things I did not do:

  • use pins
  • use high contrast (not strictly light paired with dark)
  • centre the fussy cut centre block
  • worry about 1/4 ” seams
  • worry about the width of the strips
  • worry about perfection
  • are we seeing a pattern here about not worrying….LOL

This is not the only way you could modernize the log cabin block.  I followed the directions in the Craftsy class (http://www.craftsy.com/).  It was very improvisational and some people might not like that aspect but I did.  It made me  a little more free with my own design choices and stepping outside your comfortable box is always a good thing, in my mind.

One response »

  1. Although I don’t understand all the terminology (ie fussy cut?) I like stepping out of my comfort zone once in awhile so I get it. And freedom of any kind is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

