it’s all Up From Here…

Standard

This weekend I was inspired by a member of my Modern Quilt Guild:   Ann took one big block and surrounded it with a solid.  I thought it was very striking!  This is her block:

100_1469

The next day I happened to be doing a paper purge on my sewing desk and found a pattern from the Sew Mama Sew blog for a big (24.5 inches square!) modern block called Up From Here.  It was calling my name…..

Sew, following the instructions from the blog PDF file (http://www.sewmamasew.com/march2013/MarchBOM2.pdf),  I quickly whipped up 2 blocks.

100_1479

Not sure how I will finish the design yet as I did not have enough background fabric to make any more blocks but I do have enough to play around a bit.

Interesting note on the process:   it was recommended to press seams open, which I did and actually found a little awkward,  as I have been pressing all seams to one side for some time now…

One response »

Leave a Reply

