Give Piece a Chance

Standard

Today I am working on a Modern Quilting technique:  Improv Piecing.  Some people who teach the concept are Rayna Gillman   and Victoria Findlay Wolfe .

Rayna advocates taking an orphan block and cutting it up, adding to it, cutting again, adding again, etc. until you are a happy camper.  Here goes….

 

half a peace

half o’ peace

This is half of a block I made experimenting with fonts on my HV machine.  I cut it in half before I decided to take a pic.

I worked on it for about an hour and at NO point during the process did I think I would be happy with the result but I am always OK with experimentation.  I cut up a couple of other orphan blocks in the same colour family, used a little marbled fabric I had made and added a touch of green.

This is the new finished block, which is not a square, but I quite like it:

 

finished block

first block for Give Piece a Chance quilt

Like it so much that I am going to do other blocks in other colours and put them altogether in one big quilt.  I am anticipating quite a scrappy look….

Oh, and Rayna says to keep all cut off scraps for a future improv block so here they are:

pieces of pieces

pieces of pieces

I finished by organizing some of of my pieces of pieces into colour piles.

Now I am going to put a zipper in a skirt for a pattern I am testing.  That should be fun…

Leave a Reply

